TOMORROW: Salute Dundee United’s 1983 legends who owe massive credit to ‘old heads’

Dundee United won the league in 1983 but John Holt reckons many of the players who featured in the decade before helped pave the way to title success. Above is the United squad from 1973-74. Back (from left) – Duncan McLeod, Jim Cameron, Frank Kopel, Walter Smith, Hamish McAlpine, Jackie Copland, Archie Knox, Pat Gardner, George Fleming. Front – Jim Henry, Andy Rolland, Sandy Whyte, Doug Smith, Ian Mitchell, Tommy Traynor, Kenny Cameron