Evening Telegraph

REVEALED: These are the men Dundee fans want in charge if Neil McCann leaves

Dundee supporters have revealed who they want to take over if Neil McCann leaves the club.

Five straight defeats at the start of the season have heaped pressure on the current incumbent of the Dens Park hot seat.

The Dee are slumped at the foot of the Premier League table and with a trip to McCann’s former employers Rangers next up, on September 15, there are concerns the club could soon become entrenched in the drop zone.

A Tele online poll revealed yesterday that 80% of surveyed fans wanted McCann to leave.

Neil McCann

In the same survey we asked who supporters would want to take over in the event of McCann’s departure, and the voting was tight.

Of the 186 people who suggested a new manager, the most preferred candidate was Robbie Neilson, with 28 votes.

The 38-year-old, who made 21 appearances for Dundee United in 2011-12, led Hearts from the Championship to the Europa League in the space of two years before leaving for MK Dons in November 2016. Currently out of a job, compensation wouldn’t be a problem for Dundee owner Tim Keyes.

Second, on 25 votes, was David Hopkin. However, the poll was held immediately prior to the former Livingston manager starting a new post in charge of Bradford City so would now be out of the frame.

Jim Duffy is unveiled as Dundee’s new manager in the summer of 2002

Many others called for Dundee legend Jim Duffy to return for a third spell in charge of the club. With 22 votes, the 59-year-old was the third most desired manager. Duffy has twice led The Dee to Hampden finals and was in charge during the period of administration in 2003. Duffy has been out of management since leaving Greenock Morton in April.

Former Scotland manage Gordon Strachan, ex Dundee United striker Jim McIntyre, St Johnstone boss Tommy Wright and new signing Kenny Miller were also touted as potential successors to McCann at Dens Park.

Gordon Strachan
Jim McIntyre
Tommy Wright
Kenny Miller


Full list:

Robbie Neilson: 28 votes

David Hopkin: 25

Jim Duffy: 22

Gordon Strachan: 20

Jim McIntyre: 16

John Hughes: 10

Tommy Wright: 9

Kenny Miller: 8

Peter Houston: 6

Jimmy Boyle: 4

Jocky Scott: 3

Barry Smith: 3

Alan Stubbs: 3

Steve Clarke: 2

Temuri Ketsbaia: 2

Ally McCoist: 2

James McPake: 2

Georgi Nemsadze: 2

Mick McCarthy: 2

Paul Lambert: 2

Ian Cathro: 1

Dave Martin: 1

Jim Long: 1

Lee Clark: 1

Rab Douglas: 1

Walter Smith: 1

Stewart McCall: 1

Stewart Petrie: 1

Charlie Adam: 1

Paul Hartley: 1

Fabian Caballero: 1

Pat Nevin: 1

Morgan Wieghorst: 1

Owen Coyle: 1

Joe Jordan: 1


Of the 1,609 votes submitted, 1,297 believed his time as



1,297 no

312 yes