Here is a list of all the local folk recognised in the New Year’s honours

© Matt Grayson
Dundee University rector and cyclist Mark Beaumont is to receive an MBE.

The annual New Year’s Honours list has been revealed and a number of local folk will have been recognised.

From charity and community work, like Dundee stalwart Margaret Maher, to expertise in medical services and economics, a variety of ordinary locals are being celebrated.

Here are those from Dundee, Tayside and Fife::

  • Dr Joseph Morrow, Angus, president of the Mental Health Tribunal for Scotland: CBE for public service to mental health.
  • Tannadice Scout leader Andrew Menmuir, Forfar: MBE for services to the Scouting movement in Angus.
  • Perthshire professor David Bell, of Stirling University: CBE for services to economics and public policy.
  • Andrew Morris, Perth, of the University of Edinburgh: CBE for services to science in Scotland.
  • Evelyn Grieve, volunteer with children’s charity CHAS, from Blairgowrie: MBE for her work in Perthshire.
  • Cyclist Mark Beaumont, Cupar: MBE for services to sport, broadcasting and charity.
  • Dr Jane Bruce, clinical director of NHS Tayside’s out-of-hours service: MBE for services to general practice and primary care services in Tayside.
  • Dr Alistair Emslie-Smith, GP at Arthurstone Medical Centre, Dundee: MBE for services to healthcare, particularly diabetes treatment in Scotland.
  • Dr Peter Robson, from Fowlis: MBE for services to rugby in his role as doctor for the Scottish national rugby team.
  • Gillian Milne, senior dental nurse at Ninewells Hospital: British Empire Medal for services to patients of maxillofacial surgery — treatment related to the jaws and face — in Tayside.

MBE joy for community stalwart Margaret who has taught thousands of Dundee kids music and dance